Portugal removed from UK’s hotel quarantine red list


Update. The UK government has updated its “red list” of countries requiring travellers to quarantine in a government-approved hotel on arrival into England. Portugal (including Madeira and the Azores) and Mauritius have been removed from the list but Ethiopia, Oman, Somalia and Qatar have been added to the red list. It means that from 0400 on Friday March 19, 2021, visitors who have departed from or transited through these countries in the previous ten days will be refused entry into England. Only British and Irish citizens, or those with residence rights (including long-term visa holders), will be allowed to enter, and they must stay in a government-approved facility for ten days.
A ban on commercial and private planes travelling from Oman, Ethiopia and Qatar will also come into force on Friday, affecting carriers including Qatar Airways. Mandatory hotel quarantine for arrivals into England from red list countries was introduced last month – for a full list of the affected destinations, click here