France to Reopen Borders on June 9 for Travellers From Third Countries


Update. Authorities in France plan to ease international entry restrictions from June 9 based on COVID-19 activity in destination countries. Authorities have introduced a color-coded system to classify countries based on epidemiological risk, namely green, orange, and red.

Arrivals from countries in the green list will be able to enter the French metropolitan territory without the need to provide proof of their purpose of entry, undergo multiple tests or quarantine. Travellers from the green list who are not vaccinated, however, will have to present proof of a PCR or antigen test taken within the last 72 hours before their arrival to France. Currently, the following countries are in France’s green list: European Union and Schengen Area countries, Australia, South Korea, Israel, Japan, Lebanon, New Zealand and Singapore.

In the orange list, in the meantime, are listed all other world countries, which are not placed in the green or red list including the US, UK, Canada, Thailand, Vietnam, and Russia. For arrivals from orange countries, entry restrictions depend on their vaccination status. Those who are vaccinated against COVID-19 with one of the vaccines approved by the European Medicines Agency (EMA) are only required to present a PCR test taken in the last 72 hours or an antigen test taken in the last 48 hours upon their arrival in France.
Those who are not vaccinated are obliged to present a compelling purpose of entry, present a PCR test taken in the last 72 hours or an antigen test taken in the last 48 hours before they reach France, and undergo an antigen test upon arrival in France. They are also obliged to undergo self-isolation for a period of seven days.

Arrivals from France’s red category of countries, in which are placed countries with a presence of worrying COVID-19 variants, are subject to stringent restrictions. Travellers from these countries, both vaccinated and non-vaccinated, must have a strong purpose of entry, present test results of a PCR or antigen test taken within the last 48 hours, as well as undergo random antigen testing upon arrival in France. Those vaccinated, however, have to self-isolate for a period of seven days, while those who are not vaccinated are subject to the mandatory ten-day quarantine controlled by security forces.
Currently in this list are Argentina, Chile, South Africa, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bahrain, Costa Rica, Colombia, Uruguay, Bangladesh, Bolivia, Brazil, Nepal,  Suriname, and Turkey.

As a part of the strategy, the government has also announced that starting from July 1 the EU COVID-19 certificate will be recognized for internal travel within the European area, which may include proof of vaccination, a negative test result or proof of recovery from COVID less than six months old.