Spain extends restrictions on non-essential travel from most non-EU countries until October


The Spanish government has extended temporary restrictions for non-essential travel from most third countries until September 30th 2021, meaning that the majority of unvaccinated tourists from outside of the EU can still not visit Spain.

  • The measure affects unvaccinated people from most non-EU countries who want to travel to Spain, as those who can prove vaccination with one of the inoculations Spain accepts can visit the country for tourism or other non-essential reasons. The current list of travellers from third countries who are exempt from the restrictions includes Albania, Saudi Arabia, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brunei, Canada, China, South Korea, United States, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Lebanon, Montenegro, New Zealand, Qatar, Macedonia, Moldova, Serbia, Singapore, Ukraine, as well as Hong Kong and Macau.
  • This means that currently, travellers from those countries can enter Spain without the need for a negative Covid test or a vaccination certificate. However, they still need to fill out a health control form, which can be found here. Because this list could change at very short notice, it’s important to check on the Spanish government website to see what the restrictions and travel requisites are from your country. You can check here by clicking on the map and selecting the country you’re travelling from.

On Wednesday, the Balearic government approved a further extension to Covid controls at ports and airports for travellers from the rest of Spain. The extension is until September 27, but there will now no longer be the need for travellers to fill out a form if they have the Covid certificate to show that they have been double vaccinated.
The extension has to be ratified by the Balearic High Court.