Spain Tightens Entry Restrictions for Greece, Denmark, Czechia, Liechtenstein


Travellers reaching Spain from Greece, Denmark, Czechia, Liechtenstein, and several other regions now need to follow additional entry rules as the countries have been placed on the high-risk areas list.
The newly updated list of countries placed in the high-risk list entered into force October 25, and will remain effective until October 31.

Apart from the four countries mentioned above, several other regions have been added to Spain’s high-risk list. The newly added regions are as follows:

Regions of France: Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, Bretagne, Centre-Val de Loire, Nouvelle-Aquitaine
Regions of Poland: Lower Silesian, Kuyavian-Pomeranian, Łódź Voivodeship, Lesser Poland Voivodeship, Podkarpackie Voivodeship, Pomeranian Voivodeship, and Greater Poland Voivodeship
Regions of Italy: Friuli-Venezia Giulia
On the other hand, two regions of France – Mayotte, Occitanie – and four regions of Italy – Basilicata, Emilia-Romagna, Valle d’Aosta, Lazio – are no longer part of the high-risk list. This means that all those travelling to or from these regions don’t need to follow additional Coronavirus rules upon entry in Spain.

Based on the current entry rules that Spain has, all persons who reach its territory from Greece, Denmark, Czechia, Liechtenstein, or any of the regions of France, Poland, and Italy need to provide proof of vaccination against COVID-19 or proof of recovery.

Travellers who don’t hold any of these two documents must present a negative test result in order to be allowed entry to the country.

The other EU and Schengen Area countries that are also placed in Spain’s high-risk list are Germany, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Estonia, Finland, Hungary, Ireland, Iceland, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, and Romania.