Spain and other European countries to suspend flights with South Africa

As of Nov. 26, authorities in Austria, the Czech Republic, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Spain and the UK have instituted bans of varying durations on passenger transport with several southern African countries in response to a new strain of COVID-19 discovered in the Gauteng Province of South Africa. European countries differ in which southern African states are subject to increased restrictions, but they generally include some or all of South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. Restrictions are likely to be expanded to include additional countries as cases of the new variant are confirmed.

Follow all official instructions. Abide by national health and safety measures. Reconfirm all travel arrangements if planning to travel between southern African and European countries; check entry requirements with national authorities.