New EU Travel Rules

Authorities in the European Union countries are attempting to introduce a new plan to ease the travel process amid the ongoing pandemic that would be more focused on a traveller’s individual health risk instead of the epidemiological situation in their country of departure.

Passengers who hold a valid COVID-19 vaccination certificate would not be subject to additional testing or self-isolation requirements. However, countries could still introduce additional measures for travellers from territories included in the dark red category, which consists of countries profoundly affected by the Coronavirus.

At the same time, France, Italy, Germany, Spain, the Netherlands, Belgium and Czechia have reported the highest rates of COVID-19 infections, based on the data provided by the World Health Organization (WHO).

The new changes would make the travel process easier for people from countries affected by the virus.