EU countries to lift COVID-19 travel restrictions

The Greek authorities announced earlier this month that starting from March 15, vaccinated travellers, regardless of their country of origin, will no longer be required to fill in the Passenger Locator Form.
Such a statement indicates that travellers will still be required to present a valid vaccination certificate upon their entry.

Similar to Greece, Belgium will also lift the passenger Locator Form requirement. From March 11, travellers reaching Belgium would no longer be required to present the form upon entry.

The Prime Minister of France, said that starting from March 14, the requirement to hold a valid pass when accessing different indoor areas such as restaurants, cafes, bars, museums, cinemas, and other similar places will be dropped. This means that all travellers, as well as citizens of France, will soon be able to attend different public places without being required to show a vaccination pass. However, it has been emphasised that the obligation to carry a vaccination certificate when attending hospitals, elderly homes, and other health establishments will continue to remain in force. The French authorities have announced that starting from March 14 the requirement to wear a face mask when attending public places will also be lifted. The requirement will remain effective only for those accessing public transport and health institutions.

Travellers from other countries who plan to visit Hungary are no longer required to meet entry rules as the latter’s authorities have decided to remove all the restrictions that were imposed to contain the spread of the COVID-19. Travellers, as well as citizens of Hungary, are no longer required to present a vaccination or recovery pass when accessing restaurants, bars, cafes, museums, theatres, cinemas, shopping centres, and other events. Moreover, the country’s authorities have also decided to abolish the requirement to wear a mask when in different enclosed spaces, including public transport.

Apart from Hungary, two other European Economic Area countries – Iceland and Norway – and two other European Union countries – Slovenia and Ireland – have also already removed all of their measures.

Since last month, travellers have been able to enter Iceland without having to follow any entry or national COVID-19 rules.

Norway ended all of its restrictions on February 12 too. The country now permits restriction-free entry to all travellers regardless of the vaccination or recovery status or their country of origin.

The Slovenian authorities also noted that everyone is now exempt from entry and domestic restrictions.

Similarly, Ireland announced that since March 6, no one is no longer required to meet entry rules.