The Spanish authorities have announced that all European Union/European Economic Area countries will continue to remain part of its risk list until April 3. Travellers from Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czechia, Cyprus, Croatia, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France (except Mayotte), Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Sweden would continue to be required to meet entry rules.

All travellers who reach Spain from an EU/EEA risk country need to fill out the Health Control Form. In addition, they must also present one of the certificates that is part of the EU COVID-19 Pass – a vaccination, recovery, or test certificate. This means that all EU/EEA travellers who present a valid document are permitted restriction-free entry to Spain regardless of the reason for their trip.

When it comes to the validity of the COVID-19 certificates, the Spanish Ministry of Health explains that the country recognises only vaccination passes that indicate that the holder has completed primary vaccination within the last 270 days or has received a booster shot. On the other hand, recovery certificates are accepted as long as they prove that the holder recovered from the virus in the last 180 days.

As for EU/EEA travellers who plan on entering Spain by presenting a negative COVID-19 test result, the authorities have explained that they recognise both PCR and rapid antigen tests.

We recall that a total of six European countries no longer require travellers to present proof of COVID-19. Hungary, Ireland, Iceland, Norway, Romania and Slovenia now allow unrestricted entry to all travellers, including those who have not been vaccinated or recovered from the virus.